What to do with farm fresh eggs?

I have been seeing a very attractive young lady on and off for over a year now. She is unique in many ways. One example is that all by herself this fall, she shot a caribou. Another is that she recently bought 5 hens. Two different breeds of egg laying beauties.

Ever since hearing about this I have been drooling over all the ways to use such fresh eggs. Many things come to mind but I keep coming back to the simplest methods for such a first-rate ingredient. Fried over easy with a little salt and pepper with toast is one of the very simplest yet utterly satisfying methods. Not sure if an over easy egg with toast is blogworthy. As I write that I realize that just a couple days ago I watched a video of an egg frying in a cast iron skillet at the blog Black Iron Dude. Baked on top of a Neapolitan style pizza was another idea on the short list. I ended up deciding on a real comfort dish, polenta topped with a perfectly poached egg.

Look at these lovely things.

Start with your polenta. I use Golden Pheasant brand course ground yellow polenta. In a ratio of 4 cups of chicken stock to 1 cup of polenta. Whisk in the cornmeal to boiling stock and stir almost continuously for the next 25 minutes. I use a whisk until the polenta becomes too thick and then I switch to a silicone spatula. Cook over very low heat until the grains start to express a creaminess. They almost break down if you have stirred enough.

While your polenta is slowly bubbling, cook up your best bacon.  This dish needs a texture contrast so cook it up crisp. Then chop in to bits. I also had some fresh chives that were going to add color and flavor to my light supper before the Dolphins/Carolina game. Also set out your parmesan so that it is at room temperature when you are ready to grate.

Start a pot of water to boil. When it is bubbling turn down the heat until it is barely simmering. Add in a few tbsp of white vinegar. This will be for the eggs. I crack the eggs into a coffee cup and then gently lower the cup into the water. In my opinion,  swirling the water before you do this is a bad idea. I just gently lower the cup until some of the boiling water enters the coffee cup and then pour out the egg. Let sit exactly two minutes before pulling out with a slotted spoon.

As the egg cooked I stirred the bacon, chives, grated parmesan, and butter into the polenta. Serve in a bowl with more bacon, cheese, and chives on top. Then top with your perfectly poached egg. Season fresh cracked pepper.

I couldn’t wait to bust in to that bright orange yolk.

This is one of those simple meals with very few ingredients that can just blow your mind. I think this was a fitting use for those wonderful eggs. Thank you Angel.

~ by climbhighak on November 19, 2009.

11 Responses to “What to do with farm fresh eggs?”

  1. She sounds like a wonderful girl! And the eggs don’t look half bad either ;D.

  2. Robert, a poached egg over polenta is one of my favorite meals. Yours looks fabulous, of course :) Fresh eggs make a world of difference.

  3. Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about! Simple, comfort food at its best! I would love to warm up with a bowl of that right now.

  4. Grits and eggs, love them.

  5. And here I was going to ask you to marry me after the roasted pig post… darn it all to hell!

    We’ve got RIR hens and I just love them. Granted it helps that their eggs look like chocolate!

  6. You just like me for my eggs and hunting skills… I just like you for the way you cook em! ;)

  7. Great as usual Robert, I love omellete of every ilk, and poached egg, asparagus on smoked salmon and toast :)

  8. Love it! I have been on a polenta kick since Matt and I returned from Hawaii earlier this month. We had a homemade sausage with peppers on top of goat cheese polenta at Sarento’s. I have been meaning to recreate that magical meal; now going to make it even better with an egg on top.

    Congrats to your girl on landing a caribou!

  9. This looks like comfort in bowl. What could be better than a soft, runny yolk from a farm fresh egg and creamy, cheesy polenta? What do you think? Better for breakfast or dinner?

  10. Merry Christmas from rainy Ireland!
    Lots of presents from Santa, yummy Christmas feast and have a great time with your family and friends :)
    Cheers! Anula.

  11. Yum, I want.

    The problem with the sauces etc that you just throw together is that people ask for the recipe, and you can’t say, take whats left in the bottome of this sauce bottle, that little bit of leftover frozen sauce and a pinch of this :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

