Meyer Lemon Limoncello

PART 1

While at the grocery store today I ran across these beautiful organic meyer lemons. Not something that you see everyday in Anchorage Alaska. So I grabbed a couple of bags with limoncello in mind.

Give your lemons a rinse. Organic is a plus here as you aren’t worried about any chemicals on the lemons. Now carefully peel the lemon leaving behind all of the pith. I used my brand new stainless julienne peeler from Rosle. For each quart jar you are going to need from 6-8 lemons. Now just take your lemon peels and put into a clean and/or sterilized glass quart mason jar and cover with 750 ml of  151 proof Everclear.

 

Keep the jar someplace handy but out of any direct sunlight. You can shake or swirl every so often just to give you something to do. Look how much color it has taken on in just 24 hours.

Now for the tough part. Let sit for 3 weeks. Repeat the mantra “patience is a virtue”. 

PART 2

I am still waiting but just so you have the entire recipe here goes. Combine 1 1/2 cups sugar with about 2 1/4 cups water. Heat and stir until all the sugar is dissolved. Set aside to cool completely.

Once your simple syrup is cool, strain your liquor into the pot. I will probably use a strainer with some kind of cheese cloth or paper towel to strain out any particulate matter. Now put back into your favorite decorative bottles and toss in the freezer.

I will update this post with photos of the finished product in about 3 weeks. Check back for those.

~ by climbhighak on January 19, 2010.

9 Responses to “Meyer Lemon Limoncello”

  1. I saw this at foodgawker as i was submitting a pic=;) Thanks for sharing i’m so making this!

  2. I’m doing something similar with a Buddha’s hand that a friend grew. It’s my first time making a limoncello-like beverage. I can’t wait to try it. You’re right — it’s one concoction where it pays to be patient. :)

  3. So, what are you going to do with that Limoncello? We have enjoyed this margarita recipe http://www.hodgeslab.org/2006/08/the_best_margarita_recipe_ever.html Unfortunately, no one can walk straight after making them.

    And here is a great Posole recipe, in case you need some Mexican food to got with the margaritas

    http://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/view?recipeID=108

    • I eyeballed the magarita recipe but prefer one using Tres Generaciones Anejo, Cointreau, fresh lime juice, and a bit of coconut water. Out of this world.

      Just the other day, I was eyeballing one of Rick Bayless’ books.

  4. Never tried coconut water in a margarita. The posole broth is filled with pig parts, which really adds a depth of flavor. I’m having fun with the recipes, a lot of them are posted on his web page. The book is a joy to read, he has such enthusiasm for food.

  5. Thanks for sharing… I’d like to try this recipe soon. I don’t know if I can get Everclear in my area though (I have to check), but if I need to replace it with something else, what can I substitute for it? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

