Two over easy with bacon, July Daring Cooks

Two eggs over easy with bacon is a damn fine start to just about any morning. Now how do you change that up with a little technique and a few ingredients to make basically the same thing for a gourmet dinner?

It was seeing two different food postings on the internet in a short amount of time that first planted the seed for this dish. Michael Ruhlman did a post on egg yolk filled ravioli and a friend in an old Myspace group posted a beautiful picture of a roasted pork belly. Inspiration!

This month’s Daring Cooks challenge was make a dish that incorporates hand made fresh pasta. Steph from Stephfood was our Daring Cooks’ July hostess.  Steph challenged us to make homemade noodles without the help of a motorized pasta machine.  She provided us with recipes for Spätzle and Fresh Egg Pasta as well as a few delicious sauces to pair our noodles with!

You have to start this recipe with the pork belly. Basically you cover it with a mix of salt and sugar in equal parts and then let sit overnight. I did mine in a ziploc. You could also wrap it up tight in saran wrap.

Notice how much liquid is released from using this cure overnight. I rinsed thoroughly and patted dry with paper towels. Then it goes into a 250 F oven for about 2-2.5 hours. Baste with it’s own fat every so often and then turn the oven up to 450 F and roast for another 30 minutes or so. Keep an eye on things so that the top doesn’t get too dark.

Set this aside to cool. Then get to work on your pasta.

I do a very rich version of egg pasta using 1 cup of flour, 2 egg yolks, and 1 whole egg. Usually I do this in a mixing bowl and that is how I reccommend everyone does it. This time for photo purposes I did the well method. In my opinion the bowl works better.

One of the most important steps in making fresh pasta is to be sure and allow the kneaded dough to rest. I knead until mostly smooth and then wrap in saran wrap to let rest.

Then roll it out with what you have. I highly reccommend one of these Atlas pasta rollers. They are built to last 100 years and always work.

You need a little bit of filling as a nest for the egg yolks. So I put together a mix of fresh whole milk ricotta, egg, grated parmesan, fresh basil, fresh oregano, grapefruit zest, salt, and pepper.

Lay out a little filling and make a well for the yolks. Then gently put your egg yolk into the well.

Brush around your filling with egg wash and then GENTLY lay over your cover sheet of pasta. Try to work out as much of the air as possible and then seal with your fingertips. Use something as a guide to cut out your shapes. I used a small ramekin.

Now you are ready for the big finish. All at the same time, make a simple sauce of browned butter and some fresh squeezed grapefruit juice, gently boil your ravioli for exactly 2 minutes, and reheat your now sliced pieces of pork belly.

Bada Boom. Tarragon as a little color on top  and it also adds a great anise flavor to this wonderful combination.

The sauce is powerful so just a couple of tablespoons over the pasta is plenty.

I always think of this as the moment of truth. Why yes, the yolk was cooked to perfection.

Try this dish at least once in your life. The components themselves are amazing, but together it takes you someplace better.

 Be sure to check out all the other Daring Cooks posts.

~ by climbhighak on July 13, 2011.

19 Responses to “Two over easy with bacon, July Daring Cooks”

  1. Wow!!!
    This looks amazing!
    I will need to try to impress my husband with this for breakfast sometime – maybe for our anniversary. I’m just scared I can’t do it justice.

  2. Wow, this looks fantastic! I love your literal take on fresh egg pasta. I like your recommendation, who knows where it might take me…

  3. You’re text and photos have accomplished what every post should: I want to lick my screen! ‘Nuf said.

  4. Oh my! That egg yolk raviolli is inspired! I love that idea, and I think I am going to have to give it a shot. I never would have thought to use grapefruit with past, but it makes perfect sense… Thank you so much for sharig your creativity and inspiration!

  5. What an amazing dish! and your photos are a joy to look at. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Oh waoh. I’m just speechless. The picture with the egg yolks on the pasta sheet made me die a little inside: I WANT ONE OF THOSE!!! And the pork belly looks scrumptious…

  7. These look insanely good! My brother just invested in a smoker and homemade bacon is on our to make list. I am going to have to bump it to the top of the list so I can give this a try. Great job!

  8. this is perfection!

  9. oh….wow…

    I’m just speechless…

  10. holy moly! that looks amazing. I don’t even like eggs and I want in on that! Phenomenal job (as usual).

  11. Good gosh ol mighty! Now that is some yummy looking pasta. You are making me think that I need to try this. What a great job!

  12. YESSSSS! I saw something like this on a restaurant show, and have always wanted to try making some (but was a bit chicken that I would break the yolks). So great!

  13. This looks so delicious! Homemade beats store-bought anytime and your bacon looks yummy! Love the idea of the egg yolk-filled ravioli. Excellent job on this challenge!

  14. OMG that looks wonderful I really do have to try the egg ravioli. Great challenge

  15. I’m speachless… had to pick up my jaw from the desk when I saw what you did this month…. KUDOS!!!
    Pozdrowienia. Anula.

  16. Totally.blown.away. Always wanted to try the egg yolk ravioii, and your the first I’ve seen provide a delicious, cushiony bed for it with the ricotta cheese filling. LOVE the grapefruit zest and your natural light on the pasta making and filling is extraordinary!

  17. As always, you have totally impressed me. Love your take on this dish… nice photography too :)

  18. Wow! This is amazing! I totally agree with you on the bowl method for the pasta making. Great photos! I meal fit for a king :)

  19. Ahaa, its nice discussion regarding this article at this placce at this web site,
    I have read all that, so att this time me also commenting here.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

