Gyoza/Potsticker/Dumpling

What day is today? Ah Hell! This was supposed to post last night. Better late than never.
This is my first ever post for the Daring Cooks monthly challenges.  Jen from Use Real Butter was kind enough to give us her familiy’s shrimp and pork potsticker recipes.
I did switch up the wrap recipe after reading some feedback from other Daring Cooks. I went for the boiling water method so kindly suggested by Joy from The Cooking of Joy.  Her’s seemed to be an easier dough to work with for a beginner like me.
3 cups AP flour ( I have also used bread flour with the same results. I ran out of AP)
1 cup boiling water
4 Tbsp of cold water
Just pour the boiling water into your flour and I used a spatula to cut it in. Then added in the cold water and jumped in with my hands. Kneed for 5 minutes. Don’t cheat. Just take your time and this kneeding makes for a very smooth dough.

Cover this up and allow to rest for 20 minutes. Cut into 4 equal pieces and roll these into balls. Cover up the ones your aren’t ready to work with. Now take the dough and start rolling out with your hands into a long rope. Looking for about a 1-1.5 inch diameter.

 

Cut each rope into about 10 equal sized pieces. There will be some variation in the shape but you are going for equal weight of dough in each piece.


Spread some bench flour so nothing sticks and start rolling these buggers out. Roll, then turn 45 degrees and roll again. Keep rolling and turning to get an almost perfect circle. It also helps to flip over every 4 rolls or so. When I had an especially troubled shape, I just broke out the pizza cutter and made it round the easy way.

These are just a little too big but you will get the idea after some practice. I learned that making them a little smaller and a therefore a little thicker helps make the pleating easier.

Now for the fillings. I ended up doing variations of 3 different fillings over a couple of days. First was a shrimp filling basically following the challenge recipe. I did however find some very fresh head on white shrimp. These were headed, shelled, and deveined.

Photobucket

Now for the chopping. Like many cooks this is my zen time while getting ready for a meal. Something very satisfying getting your mis en place ready. Chop the shrimp, green onion, garlic, red bell pepper, grated ginger, green cabbage, some tarragon, and a little mint. I used about 3/4 lb of shrimp and to that and the other ingredients I added about 1/4 lb of ground pork. Season with salt, pepper, and some sesame oil. Finally add in a couple tsps of corn starch and then mix thoroughly with your hands. Didn’t get a picture of the shrimp mixture.

I did get one of the pork mixture. It is grated ginger, green onion, red bell pepper, shitake mushrooms, ground pork, soy, sesame oil, green cabbage, tarragon, mint, garlic, and some corn starch.


Mix it all up and you are ready to go. Start filling your wrappers. Just do a couple at a time and even better would be to get some help.

 

I brushed the edges with just a little bit of water to help seal the dumpling. Bring the opposite sides together. Start pleating. I put 3 pleats on each half. You will get better with practice.



And voila, my very first dumpling.

Not bad for a first attempt. Now quit admiring your work and get the rest of them finished. I ended up doing about 3 1/2 dozen last night and the same amount today. I have them freezing, in the fridge for later today, and some are already in my belly.

 

Now for the cooking. Steamin, boiling, or a mix of frying and steaming are all appropriate. Last night I went for the fry/steam mix. Start some oil in a non-stick skillet. I used a little olive and some sesame. Let the oil heat up and then load up your skillet. Let them go just until they start turning golden brown on the bottoms.

Now pour in about a cup of water and quickly put a lid on to cover. These should steam for about 5-6 minutes or so. You want to be sure to cook the raw pork mixed into the shrimp. When most of the water is gone, take off the lid and let the rest evaporate. Now you can finish crisping up the bottoms.

 

I whipped up a dipping sauce from ponzu, chili garlic sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar, grated daikon, grated ginger, garlic, and some green onion.

 

Serve with BEER! I can’t stress this part enough. These are great beer food.

 

Now here is where I take a little detour. I was inspired by a ravioli that I first heard about on Michael Ruhlman’s blog some time ago. It was an egg yolk filled ravioli. Well when I blogged it, Deb told me about some famous chef taking egg yolks, freezing them, and then breading and deep frying. Well I thought that I could adapt some of that to the dumplings.

First put some egg yolks onto a sheet pan coated in cornstarch.


These were in the freezer about an hour. I then put down just a little of the pork mix and topped with the yolk. I did trim off any sharp edges to help keep from tearing the wrapper.

 Carefully pleat and seal. Can you tell I have gotten considerably better at this?

These went into boiling water for 4 minutes. Next time I would do 3.5 minutes. Seeing that it was my Sunday breakfast I plated with BACON!

I have to say these tasted pretty damn good with beer as well. Hope you enjoyed the food.
Be sure to check out all of the other Daring Cooks on the Daring Cooks Blogroll.
~ by climbhighak on June 15, 2009.

42 Responses to “Gyoza/Potsticker/Dumpling”

  1. HOLY CRAP, Robert, I’m awed! I love the bacon and egg yolk dumpling, and truth be told, it all looks great, from the photos to the dough to the fillings! You rocked your first DC challenge! Congrats!

  2. Very nice! I love the bacon and egg aspect 🙂 Actually, it all looks terrific. Great job on the challenge this month, and as far as I’m concerned, it’s still the 14th here!! 🙂

  3. Well hot damn my friend, this is fantastic! Dumplings are a hard thing the first few times for sure, and I still have a really hard time with the pleating. I have noticed your pics have gotten really great, especially the egg yolk dumpling series. And speaking of which…..man, you are crazy! I never would have thought of that, but I am an egg slut, so now i will have to try it. I just hope I can get my freezer empty enough first!

  4. Hi Robert, seems we have know each other for a long time on MS but I have to hand it to you, your blog rocks. You photos of the food to the step by step instructions so much talent. I hope to see more of you around, I can only say I wish my husband loved to cook like you do 🙂 Good luck, Melanie

  5. LOl LOL about pleating with bacon and the egg inside is inspired you are a wonder and the photos (so many) are fab and your pleating did get better (a lot better). Congrats on your 1st challenge it was very successful. Cheers

  6. The frozen egg yolk is such an interesting idea, especially coupled with its best friend, bacon, haha. Definitely have to use that in some regard 🙂

  7. Hehe! I didn’t get the play bacon and egg idea until I actually read the comments – they’re fantastic! This was my first DC challenge, too. It was excellent: I never would have tried anything like them otherwise. Love your photos 😀

  8. Awesome! I am completely in love with the egg dumplings.. and any addition of bacon always makes a dish 5000% better. 🙂 They all look fantastic! Welcome to the group, Robert!

    Also.. I laughed out loud when I read the breakfast dumplings went well with beer too. Ohhh I bet a bloody mary would be great as well! 😀

    xoxo

  9. Your dumplings look so very pretty. And those egg yolk dumplings look like a real treat, what a clever idea! Great job! 🙂

  10. Great post and great ideas… Love your potstickers!

  11. Wow, amazing. How do the egg yolks come out? At 3.5 minutes are they still runny? I need to try this asap! Looks great. Thanks for sharing.

    • I like an over easy or soft poach. At 4 minutes they were just past what I like. I would try 3.5 or even 3 if the water was at vigorous boil.

  12. The frozen egg yolk’s avery interesting idea. I think I might try it too – it looks and sounds delicious! Lovely job with your dumplings – they look perfect, and stuffed with wonderful filling-goodness.

  13. Love the bacon and egg dumpling. Such a novel idea! And you’re right — pleating gets much easier with practice. Great job on this challenge!

  14. The yolk-filled version is really original! Great job! And yes, you can see the evolution of your pleating, you’ve mastered it! Great step-by-step photos, too!

  15. The dumplings with frozen egg yolk are so cool–how creative! I never would have thought of that but it sounds so so delicious. 🙂

  16. Very Nice Robert…I knew they would be! You did get better at your wraps and it only took how many before you had it mastered? lol Love the first dumplilng but I”m sure both were very good!

  17. Wow…those egg dumplings are genius at work! The frozen yolks are beautiful all on their own.

  18. I have always wanted to make these, and with you step by step photos, i will now, definatly. I will give you a hollar when i do..
    Also, how do i subscribe to this? i have a blogspot, but i can’t find a way to subscribe.. ahh i’ll figure it out.
    Awesome photos by the way!

    • I just started at this blog location yesterday. I will get to adding all the bells and whistles like a subscription button.

  19. Wow! Fantastic creativity! Love the breakfast dumplings!

  20. Your dumplings and the pictures of their assembly are absolutely terrific. Kudos.

  21. I am kind of overwhelmed. Actually I am hungry, or just hungry or your breakfast dumplings. I have been wanting to try egg yolk ravioli, but this actually sounds so much better to me. SO MUCH BETTER. Clearly, I think with my stomach because I am at a loss for words.

  22. Beautiful post!

  23. Great job !!… and great pictures as always.

  24. Fantastic Thai variation on the traditional Japanese gyoza Robert, well done and beautifully demonstrated 🙂 Some fresh coriander would be good in there as a variation to tarragon. Yes… beer indeed… cheers

  25. So impressed with the egg version – I’ve seen photos of the yolk stuffed ravioli – for some reason never realized it was frozen.

    Fabulous photos!

    • The egg yolk ravioli isn’t frozen. I figured that freezing would help keep the egg yolk soft while cooking. Fresh pasta only takes 3 minutes so the yolk is still soft. I was concerned with the uncooked pork cooking through and then the yolk being hard boiled. That is why I froze the yolks this time.

  26. Great website!!!!!!!!!!!!! Egg yolk… fascinating! I have to try this!

    And yes… I’m with you on the BEER, BEER and more BEER =)

  27. Wow, Robert. I can see you’ve been busy! GOT to try the egg yolk thing now. LOVE the eggs and bacon, as you know.

  28. The postickers look delicious, but the eggs and bacon version is truly inventive and inspired! All good with beer!

  29. I love the egg yolk idea and sounds like you had lots of fun.. here to next month 🙂

  30. That’s one ginormous shrimp! What an interesting idea about putting egg yolks in the potstickers.

    You are forgiven for thinking my test meatballs were potstickers 🙂 But I generally do need help LOL

  31. WOW! dumplings for breakfast.. what a great idea. I’m a breakfast freak, I might just try your recipe this weekend. Thanks for that =)

  32. Those last potstickers, with the egg yolks, are some kind of inspired, crazy-delicious looking dumplings. Really impressive!

    I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  33. Frozen egg yolk? Brilliant! I’ve been making homemade potstickers for a long time and never in my wildest dreams thought of that– can’t wait to try it! Now I’m thinking of other liquid-ee things to freeze…

  34. Your potstickers look great, and you made the process look so easy. I have to try this!

  35. Very impressive potstickers! I may have to have you come to my house and pleat mine!

  36. This not only looks delicious but I bet the whole meal was so much fun to prepare, cooking can be so soothing sometimes, especially after a long week!

  37. No need to repeat over and over what others have said… ah damn it, yes I will! Egg yolk dumplings atop a piece of crispy bacon? You might just be the Stephen Hawking of cooking! But the truly inspirational thing for me is that you recommend drinking beer with them and most other foods too. You’re my beerho 8)

  38. That was an excellently written essay, thank you so much.

  39. I absolutely love gyoza, so gyoza with egg yolk on bacon!? Sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
